Black Leaders Honored by L.A. County Democratic Party

Assemblymember Miguel Santiago with his district’s honoree Jasmyne Cannick at the LACDP Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Awards on Sat., Nov. 6 at the Hyatt Regency LAX.

IT News Wire

Los Angeles – In its first in-person event since the start of the pandemic, on Saturday, November 6, the Los Angeles County Democratic Party (LACDP) held its annual Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Awards at the Hyatt Regency LAX where 46 men and women were honored with the title of 2021 Democrat of the Year representing their respective Assembly District. 

This year’s honorees included Doretta Thompson (Assembly District 36), Patrice Marshall McKenzie (Assembly District 41), Kiyomi Kowalski (Assembly District 45), Drexel Heard II (Assembly District 46), Francoise Coulton (Assembly District 48), longtime Sentinel writer Jasmyne Cannick who represents the 53rd Assembly District which includes West Adams and downtown Los Angeles, Heather Hutt who served as the first Black U.S. Senate State Director in California’s history under then US. Senator Kamala Harris and former Los Angeles City Council President Herb Wesson both from Assembly District 54, Chloe Blackburn (Assembly District 57), Elissa Underwood (Assembly District 62), Hilda Gayton (Assembly District 63), and Wayne Cheney (Assembly District 70).

The Los Angeles County Democratic Party is the largest local Democratic Party entity in the United States, representing over 2.9 million registered Democrats and a population larger than 42 other states in the 88 cities and the unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here